Don’t Feel the Water First, Just Dive

Okay, so my first attempt at this didn’t go over so well. I’m not sure if I got too far ahead of myself or if I simply fell off of the wagon, but I’m back on the horse with a renewed passion. I did what I told myself I wouldn’t do — I talked myself off the cliff. I lost the time to plan my grand adventures, consumed myself with that desk job, and focussed my attention on the life around me. The seasons changed, I moved, I got a new haircut. Life was alright and comfortable enough, I guess, but it was all just an excuse because I couldn’t bring myself to take the plunge. I felt the water, and it felt too cold.

Image

But here we are, five months later, and I’m still talking myself back toward that edge, but all of those initial feelings remain. I’m still dejected by the morning commute, apathetic about my job, and generally uninspired.

So in the name of making myself feel better about my utter failure to commit, I’m going to call that first attempt a false start. I’m going to give it another shot, and for real this time. I’m still not sure that I’m fully prepared to take a running leap off of the high dive, but I’m adamant that I won’t be deterred by the cold water.

I guess all that’s left to do now is figure out how to make it happen. Here goes nuthin’…

3 responses to “Don’t Feel the Water First, Just Dive

  1. HAHA this made me laugh for whatever reason. I was checking out your blog and glad to see you’ve decided to try again. And This was the exact thing I was hoping wouldn’t happen to me! Thats why I didn’t say a word until my flight was booked:D

    Best of luck to you! You can do it!

    Like

    • Thanks Cole! I have to commit more to writing on this thing – the whole reason to start was so that I wouldn’t back out on these travel plans! I may not be pumping out words, but I’ve bought a plane ticket so I guess I’ve been successful, haha!

      All good wishes and vibes to you too! We can all do it.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Occupying Time and Figuring Things Out | A Wayfaring Canuck

What Do You Think?

