Ground Control to Major Tom…

Commencing countdown, engines on. Check ignition and may God’s love be with you. This is the part where the timer reaches zero, the percussion lights up – if Bowie was of the dubstep variety, we’d call this the drop – and we blast off into the musical cosmos. As far as mounting anticipation in classic pop music goes I’ve always been more partial to the drum fill in Phil Collins’ In the Air Tonight, and don’t you dare try to tell me that you don’t air-drum along to the da-dum  da-dum  da-dum-dum part too, but I feel as though Space Oddity is a more apt reference given my current circumstances.

I’m blasting off in T-64½ hours, give or take a few minutes here or there. Costa Rica, here I come. I neither know nor hold any expectations of what the day will entail, but I can at least be certain that Saturday will be a day of many firsts for me. My first time on the overnight transit service through the city, my first time endeavoring Pearson International Airport, my first time layover, my first time in Central America. My first solo adventure into the wide, wild world of international travel. As the saying goes, a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. In 64½ hours, give or take a few minutes here or there, I’m going to take that first step. And you know what?

I am so stoked.

Things have been really good lately. I feel as though I slipped into a new chapter in my life over the past few months since I started making real, tangible moves toward these travel shenanigans I’ve been scheming. And It’s not even about the travel part of it any more; it’s about finally grabbing onto the reins, recognizing that what I’ve been doing is coasting through life, and working toward a new mindset. I could banter on all day long about growth of character, recognized opportunities, and just how much impact mere thoughts can have, but I’d sooner just sum it all up into a hippie drawl: feels good, maaaaaaan.

Image

Awesome things make me strike awesome poses.

In other developments that I do want to banter on about, I’m reppin’ my new Nomadic Matt shirt loud and proud. If you don’t know who Nomadic Matt is, I can only recommend that you head on over to nomadicmatt.com to find out. He’s been traveling around the world for quite some time and you could say that he’s pretty good at it in much the same way one might say that airplanes are pretty good at flying or pizza is pretty good at being delicious. The motto is “Travel Better, Cheaper, Longer,” and I for one have found his advice on backpacking and budget travel invaluable.

Anyway, Matt recently made a rather awesome addition to his website by adding a forum to it! I was excited, I signed up on day one, and I’ve been spreading good vibes and what few dregs of advice I can knowledgeably share with fellow wanderlusters since. It’s been a great resource and fun hangout, and it was made all the more so when I was invited to be a forum moderator. Of course I said yes – that’s how I landed the sweet T. Such an appointment might not seem like a big deal to some, but it is to me. It makes me feel like a real part of the wider travel community that I’m attempting to join, and that I can play a role in this community – no matter how minute – is something I regard as very special. I’m proud to be apart of it, and I think these forums have the potential to grow into something really substantial in the travel community. Check it out and I’ll see you over there!

Until next time. Keep it breezy.

What Do You Think?

